Sports

Valencia-Atlético Madrid: LaLiga 2021 preview, info, viewing options

Atlético Madrid journey to Mestalla to play Valencia on Sunday, and LaLiga’s defending champions needs to be impressed to enter the November worldwide break on a excessive following the midweek bludgeoning at Liverpool.

“It is going to be an extended sport, with a number of work and a number of effort from either side,” Diego Simeone mentioned Saturday. “I think about a powerful begin from Valencia. We performed with one much less participant for nearly 60 minutes the opposite day…they are going to search for methods to tire us throughout the sport.”

The excellent news on this entrance for Simeone is that Atlético (6-4-1, 22 factors) will welcome again three gamers who have been unavailable for Wednesday night time’s Anfield humbling. Geoffrey Kondogbia, Antoine Griezmann, and Stefan Savić have all been named to Sunday’s squad — with the latter two prone to begin.

“In Liverpool, within the second half, the staff was capable of defend itself with 10 gamers (following Felipe’s pink card), and we had the chance from Héctor Herrera,” Simeone mentioned about taking positives from the 2-0 defeat. That collective effort and work within the face of issue will make us develop.”

If Simeone’s males triumph towards Valencia (4-4-4, 16 factors), they’re assured to enter the November break no decrease than fourth — after which, Thomas Lemar and Marcos Llorente are anticipated to return from damage.

Valencia CF v Villarreal CF - LaLiga Santander

Jose Bordalas, coach of Valencia CF reacts throughout the LaLiga Santander match between Valencia CF and Villarreal CF at Estadio Mestalla on October 30, 2021 in Valencia, Spain.
Photograph by Eric Alonso/Getty Photographs

A José Bordalás aspect has by no means scored a aim towards Simeone’s Atlético, and Cholo’s crew has not misplaced to Valencia in 13 tries. The champs received each video games towards this opponent final 12 months, and all-time, Atleti have received 22 of their 82 league conferences with los Che at their 98-year-old Mestalla stadium.

“We face a Valencia staff that may play very equally as they did within the (2-0 win) towards Villarreal, very aggressive,” Simeone mentioned. “We already know the coach (effectively), who he’s. He generates an depth in his gamers, with excellent sport administration. And with the great gamers he has, Valencia are starting to attain the consistency they’re on the lookout for.”

Date Nov. 7, 2021

Location Mestalla, Valencia

Kickoff time 4:15 p.m. CET, 3:15 p.m. GMT, 11:15 a.m. EST, 8:15 a.m. PST

Available TV/streaming ESPN+ (United States), Movistar LaLiga 1 (Spain), LaLiga TV (United Kingdom)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button