Screen Actors Guild nominations: Succession, Ted Lasso and House of Gucci rule | Awards and prizes

Succession, The Energy of the Canine, Ted Lasso and House of Gucci have been out in entrance with the announcement of this 12 months’s Screen Actors Guild nominations.

The awards, voted on by members of the guild, honour each movie and TV and are sometimes seen as an indicator of who will go on to win Oscars.

Jane Campion’s acclaimed Netflix drama The Energy of the Canine picked up three nominations for Benedict Cumberbatch as lead actor and Kirsten Dunst and Kodi-Smit McPhee in supporting roles.

Cumberbatch, whose function as a closeted rancher has received him the best evaluations of his profession, will face off in opposition to Will Smith for King Richard, Denzel Washington for The Tragedy of Macbeth, Andrew Garfield for Tick, Tick … Growth! and Javier Bardem for Being the Ricardos.


For lead actress, Girl Gaga’s efficiency within the fact-based drama House of Gucci is up in opposition to Olivia Colman for The Misplaced Daughter, Nicole Kidman in Being the Ricardos, Jennifer Hudson in Respect and Jessica Chastain in The Eyes of Tammy Faye. Spencer’s Kristen Stewart, who many had anticipated can be a significant participant, was a notable omission.

Dunst’s beleaguered mom sits alongside Cate Blanchett’s Nightmare Alley femme fatale, Ruth Negga in Passing, Ariana DeBose in West Aspect Story and Catriona Balfe in Kenneth Branagh’s autobiographical Belfast.

Within the supporting actor class, Smit-McPhee is challenged by Bradley Cooper in Licorice Pizza, Ben Affleck in The Tender Bar, Troy Kotsur in Coda and Jared Leto’s divisive efficiency in House of Gucci.

Lady Gaga in House of Gucci
Girl Gaga in House of Gucci. {Photograph}: Fabio Lovino/AP

Ridley Scott’s drama in regards to the assassination of a Gucci member of the family was additionally nominated for greatest ensemble alongside the casts of King Richard, Coda, Don’t Look Up and Belfast.

On the tv facet, the third season of HBO’s drama Succession picked up nominations for Brian Cox, Kieran Culkin and Jeremy Sturdy within the class of greatest actor in a drama sequence, Sarah Snook for greatest actress and the solid as a complete for greatest drama ensemble.

The ensemble class additionally options the casts of The Handmaid’s Story, Yellowstone, The Morning Present and Squid Recreation, making historical past as the primary ever international language TV nominee.

The actor in a drama sequence class additionally options The Morning Present’s Billy Crudup and Squid Recreation’s Lee Jung-jae whereas the actress class additionally options The Morning Present’s Reese Witherspoon and Jennifer Aniston, Elisabeth Moss for The Handmaid’s Story and Squid Recreation’s Jung Ho-yeon.

Comedy nominees have been led by Ted Lasso selecting up nods for Brett Goldstein and Jason Sudeikis as actor and Juno Temple and Hannah Waddington as actress. The hit Apple present was additionally nominated for greatest comedy ensemble alongside freshman exhibits Hacks and Solely Murders within the Constructing, The Nice and The Kominsky Technique.

Jean Smart in Hacks
Jean Sensible in Hacks. {Photograph}: AP

Jean Sensible was nominated for greatest comedy actress for her function in Hacks, going through off in opposition to Elle Fanning in The Nice, Sandra Oh in The Chair and the aforementioned Ted Lasso nominees. Sensible was additionally nominated for greatest actress in a restricted sequence for Mare of Easttown the place she might be challenged by co-star Kate Winslet, The White Lotus’s Jennifer Coolidge, Maid’s Margaret Qualley and Cynthia Erivo for Genius: Aretha.

Goldstein and Sudeikis are up in opposition to Steve Martin and Martin Brief for Solely Murders within the Constructing and Michael Douglas for The Kominsky Technique. The class for greatest actor in a restricted sequence options Ewan McGregor for Halston, Oscar Isaac for Scenes from a Marriage, Evan Peters for Mare of Easttown and Murray Bartlett for The White Lotus.

The nominations arrive after final weekend’s Golden Globes which noticed lead actor wins for Will Smith, Nicole Kidman, Andrew Garfield and Rachel Zegler. This 12 months’s Oscar nominations might be introduced on 8 February.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button