National Baseball Hall of Fame: Buck O’Neil, Gil Hodges headline six new inductees

Buck O’Neil’s baseball journey was a winding odyssey from enjoying within the Negro American League to scouting and training in Main League Baseball, adopted by a long time of dedication to telling the story of the Negro Leagues to the lots and making a legacy that lives on to at the present time. On Sunday, that journey reached a new, much-deserved vacation spot: the Baseball Hall of Fame.

O’Neil was one of six inductees introduced on Sunday, all voted in by the Hall’s Golden Days and Early Baseball Period Committee. Becoming a member of him within the class of 2022 are Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva and Bud Fowler.


O’Neil’s long-overdue induction comes 15 years after his dying in 2006 at 91. He performed for the Kansas Metropolis Monarchs from 1938-42, profitable 4 straight Negro League World Sequence titles. He was drafted into the Navy in 1943, then returned to baseball in 1946 earlier than being named player-manager of the Monarchs in 1948.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button