Golden Globes: The Power of the Dog and Succession win at celebrity-free ceremony | Golden Globes 2022

The Power of the Dog and Succession had been the huge winners at an uncommon, stripped-back Golden Globes.

Historically, the ceremony is a glitzy telecast with A-listers in attendance however after a 12 months of controversies surrounding variety and amoral practices, the Hollywood International Press Affiliation misplaced its footing in the trade, with publicity corporations, studios and celebrities selecting to distance themselves.

Sunday night time’s occasion passed off at the Beverly Hilton resort in Los Angeles, with no stars or viewers, and simply choose members and grantees. Outcomes had been introduced by way of social media.

The acclaimed Netflix drama The Power of the Dog was named finest image – drama, whereas Jane Campion turned the third lady to win finest director. Kodi Smit-McPhee additionally received finest supporting actor for his efficiency in the movie.


Will Smith was named finest actor in a drama for King Richard, whereas Nicole Kidman received finest actress in a drama for enjoying Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos. It was Kidman’s fourth win from 16 nominations.

Steven Spielberg’s acclaimed remake West Aspect Story dominated the musical/comedy classes, profitable finest image, finest actress for Rachel Zegler and finest supporting actress for Ariana DeBose. Andrew Garfield was additionally named finest actor in a musical or comedy for Tick, Tick … Increase!.

On the tv facet, HBO’s hit drama Succession picked up awards for finest drama, finest actor for Jeremy Robust and finest supporting actress for Sarah Snook. The community additionally noticed freshman collection Hacks named finest comedy and its star Jean Good win for finest actress in a comedy collection. Jason Sudeikis was named finest comedy actor for Ted Lasso, whereas O Yeong-Su received finest supporting actor for Netflix’s breakout hit Squid Sport.

Jeremy Strong in Succession
Golden Globe-winning Jeremy Robust in Succession. {Photograph}: Graeme Hunter/AP

MJ Rodriguez turned the first trans lady to win the award for finest actress in a drama collection for Pose.

Kate Winslet was named finest actress in a restricted collection for the acclaimed crime drama Mare of Easttown whereas Michael Keaton was named finest actor in a restricted collection for Hulu’s opioid drama Dopesick. Barry Jenkins’ interval drama The Underground Railroad additionally received for finest restricted collection.

Different winners included Japan’s Drive My Automobile as finest movie not in the English language, Encanto for finest animated function, Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast for finest screenplay, No Time to Die for finest unique music and Dune for finest unique rating.

Workers members representing varied non-profits supported by the Hollywood International Press Affiliation had been readily available to announce winners. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jamie Lee Curtis appeared by way of video to speak about the HFPA’s philanthropic efforts. “I’m proud to be related to them on this enterprise,” Curtis stated, whereas Schwarzenegger praised the organisation’s assist of various voices.

The occasion required proof of vaccination and a adverse PCR take a look at. Attendees had been additionally required to be masked and socially distanced at all occasions.

After a collection of Los Angeles Instances exposés revealing a scarcity of variety in the HFPA’s voting membership and a quantity of “moral lapses”, the previous 12 months have seen high-profile actors together with Tom Cruise and Scarlett Johansson converse out in opposition to the affiliation, in addition to NBC deciding to not broadcast this 12 months’s ceremony.

Tried restore work has included “overhauling” beforehand restrictive bylaws, implementing adjustments almost about code of conduct and moral practices, and bringing in a various set of 21 new members.

“Final 12 months the Hollywood International Press Affiliation was challenged to alter – and we did,” stated Helen Hoehne, its president. “Each internally, inside the Affiliation, in addition to including 21 members to deliver contemporary views.

“We’re on a journey of change and we’re not going to relaxation. We’re going to be outspoken about what we’re studying and problem others to affix us.”


Kyle Bowser, senior vice-president of the NAACP Hollywood Bureau, spoke of a joint five-year initiative to extend variety, fairness and inclusion. “Creativeness is the foreign money that sustains and propels the leisure industries,” he stated throughout the ceremony.

Final 12 months’s televised ceremony suffered a catastrophic 60% drop in viewers.

Sunday’s Critics Selection awards had been anticipated to behave as an unofficial substitute, with celebrities in attendance and a televised ceremony, however the occasion was postponed consequently of a rise in Covid-19 circumstances.

This 12 months’s Oscar nominations are as a result of be introduced on 8 February, with the ceremony happening on 27 March.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button