Disney Plus is upgrading Marvel movies to IMAX aspect ratio

Disney and IMAX have introduced a collaboration that can see a number of Marvel movies introduced in IMAX’s Expanded Aspect Ratio format on Disney Plus. 13 MCU movies in complete will likely be upgraded to IMAX Enhanced on November twelfth, together with Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which is making its debut on the service that day.

Whereas IMAX historically makes use of a squarer 1.43:1 format, Expanded Aspect Ratio is 1.90:1, which is comparatively shut to the 16:9 ratio of TVs. Marvel movies are typically introduced in wider, letterboxed aspect ratios, however lots of them characteristic some 1.90:1 sequences captured with IMAX-certified cameras for a taller image in IMAX theaters. Avengers: Infinity Conflict and Endgame, in the meantime, had been shot completely within the format.

Black Widow, for instance, has 22 minutes of IMAX Expanded Aspect Ratio footage, so these scenes will replenish extra of your TV display screen while you watch them on Disney Plus. In different phrases, the black bars will likely be smaller. The IMAX Enhanced designation will ultimately contain extra options, like DTS encompass sound.

Right here’s the complete record of MCU movies that will likely be licensed as IMAX Enhanced on November twelfth:

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Avengers: Infinity Conflict
  • Black Panther
  • Black Widow
  • Captain America: Civil Conflict
  • Captain Marvel
  • Physician Unusual
  • Iron Man
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Thor: Ragnarok

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button